Previous Entry Share Next Entry
North Carolina Tarheels: 2017 NCAA Basketball National Champions!
The North Carolina Tarheels have won their first national championship in college basketball for the first time since 2009.

The South Regional champion, Tarheels knocked out the West Regional champion, the Gonzaga Bulldogs by a score of 71 to 65.

The Tarheels finish their 2016-2017 school season with 33 wins and 7 losses. The Bulldogs as the runner-up, finished their school season in disappointment with 37 wins and 2 losses.

The East Regional champion, Oregon Ducks in their 2nd Final Four appearance finished their school year with 33 wins and 6 losses after losing to the Tarheels, 77 to 76 in the first national semifinal game.

Lastly, the Midwest Regional champion, South Carolina Gamecocks in their 1st Final Four appearance finish their school year with 26 wins and 11 losses after losing to the Bulldogs, 77 to 73 in the second national semifinal game.

Tarheels head coach, Roy Williams wins his 3rd national championship as head coach and tied for 4th most all-time. He passes Dean Smith for most national championships in school history.

#2 Goalkeeper Joel Berry II was named the 2017 Final Four Most Oustanding Player.

Playing for 37 minutes, he scored 22 points with 7 of 19 field goals, 4 of 13 three-pointers, 4 of 8 free throws, 3 rebounds, 6 assists, 1 turnover, 2 steals, 1 blocked shot and 3 personal fouls.

The 2017 Final Four was held at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona. The National Semifinals attendance record was 77,612 and the National Championship game attendance record was 76,188.

This was the first national semifinal and national championship game to be contested in a Western state since 1995 when Seattle was the host of the Final Four for that year.

The 2016-2017 NCAA Division I Basketball season has now come to a close and will enter a long-off season. The 2017-2018 NCAA Division I Basketball season will begin on Friday, 10 November 2017...that's 220 days from today.

For now, congratulations to the North Carolina Tarheels for winning their first national championship since 2009 and their sixth title overall! The North Carolina Tarheels are the champions of college basketball!


Log in