Previous Entry Share Next Entry
New England Patriots: Super Bowl LI Champions!
For the fifth time in franchise history, the New England Patriots have won Super Bowl LI!

The Patriots did it by making its largest comeback in franchise history by defeating the NFC champion, Atlanta Falcons by a score of 34 to 28 with 11:02 remaining in overtime. Going into the third quarter, the Patriots were down 25 points, but with a touchdown and a two-point conversion, the Patriots managed to tie the game.

Super Bowl LI was the first game in NFL championship history to go into overtime when the game ended with a touchdown.

With the Patriots win, they deny the Atlanta Falcons their first Super Bowl championship in their franchise history.

The New England Patriots finish their 2016 season with 17 wins and 2 losses. The Atlanta Falcons with their elimination loss, finish their season just short with 13 wins and 6 losses.

#12 Quarterback Tom Brady was named the Super Bowl LI Most Valuable Player and for the fourth out of five times in a row. He finished with a 95.2 quarterback rating after making 43 completions out of 62 attempted passes and passing for 466 yards.

He also score 2 touchdowns on 1 interception. He also rushed on 1 attempt for 15 yards with it being the longest one in the game. He also made 5 sacks with 24 yards lost.

His team, the Patriots came all the way back from being suspended the first four games of the 2016 NFL regular season for the "Deflategate" scandal that tarnish the franchise for much of last year.

Super Bowl LI was played at NRG Stadium in Houston, Texas. This was the third Super Bowl event played at Houston with the last one being held in 2004. 70,807 people attended Super Bowl LI.

The National Anthem was performed by Luke Ryan. The Coin Toss was made by former President George H. W. Bush and former First Lady Barbara Bush. The Super Bowl LI Halftime Show was performed by Lady Gaga and the cost of a 30-second commercial was worth $5.02 million!

With all of that said and done, the 97th NFL season has come to a close! The 98th NFL season will begin on Thursday, 3 August 2017 with the 2017 Pro Football Hall of Fame game - that's exactly 180 days from now.

For now, congratulations to the New England Patriots for overcoming the largest deficit in Super Bowl history to be crowned as champions of the National Football League for 2016!


Log in

No account? Create an account